JACOB NARANJO

I think when you first start learning a form of artistic expression you don't have the same confidence as others who may have been doing it for a longer period of time. I've always been into some form of artistic expression since I was a little kid. I've invested time and effort in music (choir, song writing, DJing, and music production) before I started to learn the photography. I think if you're honest with your work, then confidence just becomes a natural feeling. I also think over time you start to build confidence based on experience and positive feedback from people. 

 

//

 

Originally, I had started in sports photography shooting men and women. At some point I started to shoot mostly women for a different style of work. During those sessions I had the opportunity to get to know where they're from, what goals they had in mind, what makes them happy/sad, etc. It was really interesting for me to get to know their stories and see life from a different perspective. It just shows you how strong and loving women really are.

 

//

 

I love seeing when a model shows variation of emotion, ability to show vulnerability, and not being afraid to try something new. These qualities help bring a certain vibe in the session and make a person truly connect with a photo.

With my style I prefer simple wardrobe - basics work for me because it allows to me focus on the subject.

 

//

 

One of the most challenging aspects of my work, but one that I'm grateful for is: Meeting and working with the right people - people who will motivate, inspire, and make me a better person. So I'm grateful these people continue to give me an opportunity to be creative and have trust in my vision.

 

//

 

Definitely optimistic about the future. I'm always looking forward to learning and growing as a person, while trying to understand what truly makes me happy.

 

//

 

The end of civilization will be caused by: People who lack compassion. Take the time to understand what is going on around the world. Learn what you could do to make a positive impact and help make things better. 

 
















01 // Kristen Pettey // thekristenpettey
02 // Elora Blanco // itselora
03 // Brianna Doan // bdoann
04 // Emily Frazier // emfrazier
05 // Emily Frazier // emfrazier
06 // Michi Delane // michidelane
07 // Liberty Netuschil // thelifeoflibs
08 // Lauren McKell // mckell_
09 // Nicole Linkletter
10 // Kristen Pettey // thekristenpettey
11 // Regina S. // regina_schnitzer
12 // Talia Williamson // taliawilliamson
13 // Jess Mayel // jessmayel
14 // Amy Staunton // amy_staunton
15 // Valeska Miller // valeska_miller
16 // Elora Blanco // itselora

 

Jacob Naranjo // byxjacob // jacobnaranjo.com

 

JUNNNKTANK is an online zine which has existed in one form or another since 2006.
For over a decade, the focus has been on highlighting the efforts of inspiring individuals and artists from around the world.

//

Submissions are always welcome to junk@junnnktank.com.