CHRISTOPHER VON STEINBACH

Confidence has never really felt like something that I lacked, though I do tend to bully myself. I'm not sure how you get out of thatů I guess you just follow the cycle. You shoot it, you love it, then hate it, over analyze it, convince yourself that it's somehow important, then you drink copious amounts of alcohol, threaten to kill yourself, go to sleep, wake up, start over. You know, normal shit.

//

Women are incredibly powerful. Life quite literally stems from women, so I suppose you can say that they're the basis of progress. My mother was always very loving and incredibly supportive; my father, very chivalrous.

Though my photographs obviously tend to focus more on physical allure, I do believe the roots to be deeper than that and fed by great admiration and respect.

//

I love anything delicately simple and tasteful. Fashion is best when there's less...

//

There is no hard and fast method in getting a particular result. You can approach every shoot basically the same, but you'll have to adapt with each subject because every personality is different. I am always very transparent about what I am going for.

//

One of the most challenging aspects of my work but one that I am truly grateful for is: Chasing the sun. The time, location and atmosphere can all make its effect somewhat unpredictable, but the right look is integral to my satisfaction.

//

I fear a day that I quit recognizing my own failures. I hope that I always continue to pick my work apart in the pursuit of unattainable perfection.

//

The end of civilization will be caused by: Religion, greed and the self importance that enables the continued rape of our planet until it's too late to come to terms.

 
















01 // Michelle Vawer // msvawer
02 // Kristina Boyko // krist_krist
03 // Carmella Rose // carmellarose
04 // Beate Muska // beatemuska
05 // Daryadar // daryadar
06 // Beate Muska // beatemuska
07 // Sara Mann // saramann
08 // Becca Lane // becclane
09 // Megan Samperi // megan_samperi
10 // Becca Lane // becclane
11 // Azlin Nicolette // azlinnicolette
12 // Alexa Reynen // alexareynen
13 // Sara Mann // saramann
14 // Azlin Nicolette // azlinnicolette
15 // Michelle Vawer // msvawer
16 // Liza Kei // liza_kei

 

Christopher Von Steinbach // christophervonsteinbach // christophervonsteinbach.com

 

JUNNNKTANK is an online zine which has existed in one form or another since 2006.
For over a decade, the focus has been on highlighting the efforts of inspiring individuals and artists from around the world.

//

Submissions are always welcome to junk@junnnktank.com.